Distinguished Paper Award

Each year NRMERA presents the Distinguished Paper Award at the annual conference. Anyone whose proposal was accepted to be presented at that year’s conference may enter their related full, complete research paper for consideration. This is NRMERA’s opportunity to acknowledge excellence in research in the region and to support the dissemination of research at a national level.

There are three incentives for submitting a paper for consideration. In addition to a certificate to honor their award, the author of the winning paper will receive:

  • Automatic acceptance to present the paper at the next annual meeting of the American Educational Research Association (AERA)
  • $500 grant to help offset travel expenses to attend AERA (must attend AERA to receive the grant)
  • Priority consideration for publication in the NRMERA journal, Educational Research: Theory and Practice.

The Distinguished Paper Award committee is chaired by the immediate past-president of NRMERA, and consists of a range of past-presidents. The committee selects the top three finalists prior to the NRMERA conference, and the winner is selected by attending past-presidents after the paper presentations at the conference.

Award Applications

All NRMERA members who have been accepted to present a paper at the annual conference may submit their paper for consideration. The deadline for submitting a paper for consideration of this award is typically August 31.

Submissions should be sent electronically as an MS Word or PDF file to the immediate past-president of NRMERA. Contact information can be found on our Leadership page.

2022 Nominations

Submit to: Amanda Eller 
Deadline: September 30, 2022

Past Award Recipients

Year——Distinguished Paper Award Recipients
2022Peter Weins
2021No Award Given
2020No Awards – Conference Cancelled due to COVID
2019Kate Olson, Katie Lannan, John Cumming, Heather MacGillivary, Kevin Richards
2018Idalis Villanueva, Marialuisa Di Stefano, Laura Gelles, & Katherine Youmans
2016Holly Roof & Lillian Chumura
2015David H. Khaliqi & Joseph Taylor
2013Kala Lougheed
2010Jayne Hellenberg, Margaret Hudson, Kim Miller, and Liann Brenneman
2009Taylor Jensen
1998Kevin Michael Carr
1996Loretta J. Heuer
1995Johanna Nel
1994Richard A. King & Margaret Gomez
1993Ray E. Wong
1992Janet Martin
1991Carla W. Hess, Lynae S. Winther, & Richard G. Landry
1990Patricia A. McClurg
1989Stephanie A. Salzman
1988Amalya Nattiv
1987D. Ray Reutzel & Paul M. Hollingsworth
1986Peter R. Denner & William J. McGinley