Early Career Award

NRMERA solicits nominations annually for the NRMERA Early Career Award. The award is presented each year at the NRMERA conference to recognize a member of NRMERA who is early in his or her career and has made significant contributions to NRMERA and to the field of education. A plaque is given to the recipient at the annual meeting to honor their award.

The award committee consists of one executive committee member, two state representatives, and the graduate student representative. The president appoints the chair of the committee. The NRMERA Executive Committee must ratify recommendations of the awards committee.

Award Criteria

Candidates for the award must meet the following criteria:

  • Have earned a doctorate in an education-related field (e.g., curriculum and instruction, special education, educational psychology, school counseling, educational leadership, educational assessment, etc.);
  • Have been granted said degree within the last 8 years;
  • Have been visibly active in NRMERA for no fewer than 4 years; and
  • Show promise of achieving national visibility.

Award Nominations

To nominate a candidate for the Early Career Award, submit to the committee chair:

  • A current curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of recommendation that speak to the criteria listed above

Self-nominations are acceptable.

2023 Award Committee

Chair: Amy Ratto-Parks

Member: Lindsay Diamond

2023 Early Career Award Nominations

Submit to: Amy Ratto-Parks
Deadline: August 31, 2023

Past Award Recipients

Year——Early Career Award Recipients
2022Amy Ratto-Parks
2021Faye Haggar
2020No Awards – Conference Cancelled due to COVID
2019Lindsay Diamond
2018Amanda Eller
2016William “Bill” Young
2015Tara Beziat